Shiny Golden Snakes - Birdsongs Of The Mesozoic - Sonic Geology

Add to that the occasional piece of low key, Eno-esque ambience and you've got a highly enjoyable and varied collection. There's even a whisper of jazz here and there, although there's not much space for improvisation in their studiedly formal compositions and arrangements.

Despite the rather cerebral nature of their music, there are plenty of warm touches - Beats of the Mesozoic features a massed percussion work out that sounds like muscle and sweat were involved, and their brief run through of the Theme from Rocky and Bullwinkle would not have sounded out of place on a Zappa album.

Although their music was to evolve and mutate through the 80s and 90s, Sonic Geology remains probably the best introduction to BOTM. The Fossil Record is an interesting companion piece, as it consists mostly of unreleased pieces from the same period although 2 tracks crop up on both albums. Sonic Geology was my introduction to Birdsongs of the Mesozoic music, later i discovered The Iridium Controversy which i enjoy more.

Anyway if you have time and are interested get it, i recommend it to RIO lovers. Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Although their music was to evolve and mutate through the 80s and 90s, Sonic Geology remains probably the best introduction to BOTM.

The Fossil Record is an interesting companion piece, as it consists mostly of unreleased pieces from the same period although 2 tracks crop up on both albums. Sonic Geology was my introduction to Birdsongs of the Mesozoic music, later i discovered The Iridium Controversy which i enjoy more. Anyway if you have time and are interested get it, i recommend it to RIO lovers. Perhaps that is because of the work of Roger Miller no not that guy, the one from Mission of Burma , adding a harder edge to the music.

But there are several moments of serene beauty as well, in particular the limpid Steve Adams composition that ends the program.

Highly recommended. For press and media: cover art and high resolution images are available below for download click thumbnail, right-click image and select "Save As.. Please credit the photographer when available and "Courtesy of Cuneiform Records". For more information, click here. Subscribe to Cuneiform's newsletter! Swope, Scott, and especially Lindgren also began composing original material. With Adams onboard, Birdsongs' music had a new jazz element to its sound.

The group has also extensively toured the US, Canada, and Europe in their three-decades of activity.

A handy track précis of the first three releases by Boston avant-rockers Birdsongs of the Mesozoic ('s Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, 's Magnetic Flip, and 's Beat of the Mesozoic), 's Sonic Geology is an excellent introduction to the challenging but always accessible music they created.9/

10 thoughts on “Shiny Golden Snakes - Birdsongs Of The Mesozoic - Sonic Geology

  1. Jul 08,  · For their 13th album and in their 25th year together, post-punk, art-rock pioneers Birdsongs of the Mesozoic do a degree musical swerve and .
  2. Shiny Golden Snakes Songtext von Birdsongs of the Mesozoic mit Lyrics, deutscher Übersetzung, Musik-Videos und Liedtexten kostenlos auf bluegrass.kalkisnilalmeenawhisperbringer.infoinfo
  3. Birdsongs Of The Mezozoic propose une musique décalée et originale, avec plus de vingt ans d'existence et une dizaine d'albums au compteur, ce groupe de Boston, difficile à décrire, explore et mélange des genres multiples qui vont du Canterbury au RIO en passant par le jazz-rock.
  4. 1. Shiny Golden Snakes () 2. Ptoccata () 3. Waterwheel () 4. Pulse Piece () 5. The Rite Of Spring (excerpts) () 6. The Orange Ocean () 7. The Tyger () 8. Scenes From A () 9. The Beat Of The Mesozoic, Part 1 () International Tours /5.
  5. Jul 27,  · Our new desktop experience was built to be your music destination. Listen to official albums & more.
  6. Tracks 6, 11, 15 and recorded 8/81 to 12/82, are from Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, AHS (P) Tracks 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 13 and recorded 10/83 to 1/84, are from Magnetic Flip, AHS (P) Tracks 3, 8, 9 and recorded 3/85, are from Beat of the Mesozoic, AHS (P) All on Ace of Hearts Records Tracks 4 and 16 have never seen the light of day before now/5(7).
  7. Birdsongs owes its origins to the breakup of the Boston post-punk band Moving Parts, which included Erik Lindgren (vocals, keyboards) and Roger Miller (vocals, guitar). Miller went on to form the seminal post-punk group Mission of Burma (–; –present), while Lindgren concentrated on production work in his home recording bluegrass.kalkisnilalmeenawhisperbringer.infoinfo: Avant-prog.
  8. BIRDSONGS OF THE MESOZOIC Sonic Geology reviews / from bluegrass.kalkisnilalmeenawhisperbringer.infoinfo, the ultimate progressive rock website bluegrass.kalkisnilalmeenawhisperbringer.infoinfo is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.
  9. "BIRDSONGS OF THE MESOZOIC is a four-piece electric new music ensemble exploring and expanding the boundaries of contemporary music. Established in as a side project to the Boston post-avant punk band MISSION OF BURMA, the group has earned wide critical praise and international recognition for its innovative music; an unusual mix of.
  10. Listen free to Birdsongs of the Mesozoic – Sonic Geology (Shiny Golden Snakes, Ptoccata and more). 18 tracks (). Discover more music, concerts, videos, .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *