Fusion Orchestra - Skeleton In Armour

Tormented by faded memory, Reliving all your days of history, Seeking, searching, looking for revenge, A soldier risen from the grave, To be set free now.

Bewildered by time you turn and go now, Leaving behind a trail of smoke now, Merging, sinking, deep in the earth, A ghost in the night, a figure that died, In search of something.

Nominate as Song of the Day. Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November Sunday 10 November Monday 11 November Tuesday 12 November Wednesday 13 November Thursday 14 November Friday 15 November Saturday 16 November Sunday 17 November Monday 18 November Tuesday 19 November Wednesday 20 November Thursday 21 November Friday 22 November Saturday 23 November Sunday 24 November Monday 25 November Tuesday 26 November Wednesday 27 November Thursday 28 November Friday 29 November Saturday 30 November Sunday 1 December Monday 2 December Tuesday 3 December Wednesday 4 December Thursday 5 December Friday 6 December Saturday 7 December Sunday 8 December Monday 9 December Tuesday 10 December Wednesday 11 December Thursday 12 December Friday 13 December Saturday 14 December From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia.

Fusion Orchestra. Categories : British progressive rock groups Musical groups established in Musical groups disestablished in Happy to oblige, the band had the balls to play their version of 'Whole Lotta Shakin' — a rock 'n' roll song made famous by none other than Jerry Lee himself. They never found out what he thought of their version.

Earlier that year, the band was booked to play a charity concert at London's Alexandra Palace. Shortly before they were due on stage, Dave walked out of the venue over some disagreement, the cause of which wasn't immediately obvious.

The performance had to cancelled. After appearances with the band, two months and around 14 gigs after the release of the album, Dave Cowell played his final set with the FO, at Bristol's Colston Hall on 14 December It was Fusion Orchestra's th performance as a band, and marked the th appearance for Jill Saward.

Dave Cowell was replaced on bass by Paul Jennings. The band also decided to expand the line-up and took on Martin Slavinec aka Martin Lee on keyboards. After a month of rehearsal, Fusion Orchestra took to the road as a six-piece, playing their first gig with the new line-up on 2 February at Doncaster College of Education. The gig also saw the debut of new material, including 'Beginning End', 'To A Child', and 'Lazoon' — a vehicle for Dave Bell's drum solo, but which featured an impressive guitar preamble by Colin Dawson.

The band continued to play to packed halls and appreciative audiences. But while new bassist Paul Jennings settled in quickly, keyboardist Martin Slavinec was less than comfortable with the music. After eleven gigs it seemed clear that he wasn't right for the band. He was to play only four more gigs with Fusion Orchestra and parted company with the band making his final appearance at Swansea's Patti Pavilion on 29 March It was the time of the fuel crisis and three-day week.

The shortage of petrol had a serious impact on the availability of vinyl for records. Record companies began to cull smaller bands to allow them to concentrate the available vinyl stocks on volume-selling big-name artists.

Many smaller bands suffered because of this, and Fusion Orchestra wasn't to escape: EMI chose not to renew the band's contract. It was a blow and while FO continued to work solidly, touring constantly, some of the early enthusiasm was dented.

Stan Land, one of the founder members, was also facing personal problems at home, and decided to leave the band in the middle of He had played more than gigs with FO.

For Jill, Dave and Colin particularly, this was very disappointing. Stan had always been cheerfully crazy and every bit the character audiences saw on stage. Of all the personnel changes, this was probably the most significant. Stan Land was replaced on second guitar by Andy Blamire, who had been roadying for the band. The name Fusion Orchestra was eventually chosen to reflect the diverse styles woven into the band's music.

Early performances featured original songs written by Stan Land and Colin Dawson. In the band's early days, vocal and bass duties were handled by another friend of Colin and Stan — Dave Wheeler, but other interests prevented him from joining the band on a permanent basis.

Although the band played eight gigs with Dave Wheeler on bass, his situation meant the other members were constantly on the lookout for a replacement, which they found in November in the shape of Mick Sluman. Mick was singing and playing guitar with a local semi-pro band called This Was a name unashamedly lifted from the title of Jethro Tull's debut album.

The band was playing a support spot to Fusion Orchestra. Mick had a certain stage presence and Colin, Dave and Stan approached him after the gig to find out when and where his band rehearsed.

Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for Skeleton in Armour - Fusion Orchestra on AllMusic - Find album reviews, stream songs, credits and award information for Skeleton in Armour - Fusion Orchestra on AllMusic -

10 thoughts on “Fusion Orchestra - Skeleton In Armour

  1. Fusion Orchestra was a progressive jazz rock band from the UK, active between and In they were signed to EMI and released their album Skeleton in Armour. The band eventually split up in having played over five hundred gigs.
  2. Skeleton In Armour Encores: Ticket To Ride Whole Lotta Shakin' CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED progressive rock band Fusion Orchestra have released their first album in 45 years following a surprise encounter with a fan in Japan.
  3. Aug 12,  · Skeleton in Armour was Fusion Orchestra's only album which is kinda sad because it's a pretty sweet record. The A-side is pretty damn strong. Both of those long tracks are impressive. And even if the side B is slightly weaker it's still a good one as well. "When My Mama's Not at Home" is the only song that I don't like so much/5(17).
  4. Between the recording of 'Skeleton In Armour' and its release in November , Fusion Orchestra continued to gig solidly in Britain and also crossed the Channel to play gigs in Holland and Germany. At the Scheessel Rock Festival in northern Germany, headlined by legendary performers Chuck Berry and Jerry Lee Lewis and featuring many leading rock bands, Fusion Orchestra played to a 50,plus .
  5. Skeleton In Armour This song is by Fusion Orchestra and appears on the album Skeleton In Armour (). Surrounded by trees in the light of darkness, Imprisoned within a wall of branches, Falling leaves just flicker themselves dry, A storm is passing over so I'd better stay now. There's.
  6. Fusion Orchestra's release, Skeleton In Armour. Skeleton In Armour: The band's album. Fanfairy Suite for 1, Trampits - Part One Sonata in Z Have I Left The Gas On? OK Boys, Now's Our Big Chance Skeleton In Armour When My Mamma's Not At .
  7. Dec 13,  · View credits, reviews, tracks and shop for the Vinyl release of Skeleton In Armour on Discogs/5(32).
  8. Stan Land - — Col Dawson is very sad to report the sudden death of Stan Land, aged 67, on 8 May. "He was a lifelong friend – we met on our first day at school in – and had enjoyed each other's company since.
  9. Fusion Orchestra (bluegrass.kalkisnilalmeenawhisperbringer.infoinfo) was a hard rock / progressive rock band of the early seventies. Fusion Orchestra (bluegrass.kalkisnilalmeenawhisperbringer.infoinfo) was a hard rock / progressive rock band of the early seventies. For the Ukrainian Jazz/Fusion band of the same name (known for Farfisa), please see Fusion Orchestra (UA).
  10. Dec 16,  · Skeleton in Armour Fusion Orchestra Format: Audio CD. out of 5 stars 1 customer review. See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions. Listen Now with Amazon Music: Skeleton In Armour "Please retry" Amazon's Fusion Orchestra Store 5/5(1).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *